The Inconsistent Truth

So this weekend I flew over to Amsterdam for a competition that was being held not far from Rotterdam.Image

 

 

So once I picked up my passport that I left before going to work, and I found the airport parking after a 20min goose chase around Paisley, I finally got to the lovely people a KLM.

Me: Steve Johnstone to Rotterdam please (as was recommended by Dennis Van Hoek )

KLM: Johnstone? Rotterdam?

Me: Eh, yeah…

KLM: We don’t fly to Rotterdam sir.

I don’t know what I was bemused about the most.  That I might be flying to a different city, I might not be flying at all, or that she thinks that I am a person with a social status that she considered calling me Sir!

Me: Ah ok….(confused look)

KLM: Do you know that your booked onto our flight to Amsterdam?

Me: I do now.  Well at least I’m going to the right country………am I?

KLM: Yes you are Sir.  Please give me your bag.

I complied, and was soon on my way……

Dennis Van Hoek thought that this was highly amusing and thought that it was a mistake to make like booking Glasgow instead of London!  he might have a point, but nonetheless I was on my way.

After a short flight, and a train journey to Rotterdam, Dennis came and picked me up and we were off to the place of the competition.  He said that that night we were going to be sleeping in the climbing wall, I thought this was perfect!  After meeting Marianne Van Der Steen (yes that is a cool name), and had a wee catch up, a couple of beers, I was soon lay out of the sofa for the night.

Competition Day

I woke up.  Not because I had an alarm set, not because I had a bad sleep, and not because I needed a piss.  No I woke up because of Harry.  Harry, I hate you.

Image

 

We soon became friends as he’s kinda cool!

People started filling the climbing wall cafe, and after the usual safety, rules, and routes briefing, nearly 100 hundred climbers set to work out the tricking problems that lay ahead.

Dennis and myself made some good work on the problems, taking turn about for who goes first and finding the secret holds to get us to the top.  After completing all of the hardest routes we were sure that we were in the final and decided to have some lunch and kick back.

At four o’clock, the ‘last route’ shout was giving and the climbers gave their last good effort to grab some extra points to put them higher up the qualifying list.

As Dennis and I thought we and four other were in the final.  The usual things happened.  You get a little nervous, then you put on a brave face, you then have a look at the final route and a quick discussion about rules etc.  You then go into isolation, you contemplate a warm, and when, you try a drink water, although it seems to run right through you, and you end up having about 346 pisses in a hour! And then, you get the call.  Its your turn, time to pull out the stops, push yourself to your limit, time to focus.  You walk through the door, you hear your name being announced and the crowd applaud, you try and look up but the lights are too bright.  You try a remember how to tie in because your mind is racing and there’s lots to think about!  You glance up that the route and hopefully you remember most it, and have already played through your head the way your going to climb it.  Then you a deep breath, and set off.

Now, what happens next?  That’s anyone’s guess.  This is a competition, things happen that shouldn’t and things don’t happen that should.  I should of climbed to the top.  I didn’t.  Nop, I ripped of the fourth hold.  Yep 1,2,3,4.  

Inconsistency is a bitch.  I for me, It catches me out when I least expect it.  I felt strong, I felt focused, and I felt like I had the route planned out in more than one way.  But It wasn’t for me.  Gutted isn’t the word.  Really f***ing pissed off is close.  Why does this happen?  

This year has been great.  I’ve never felt stronger, I’ve climbed harder than I thought I would, but my inconsistent friend keeps me on my toe’s.  One day I’m wont get up my usual warm up route, the next I’ve flash the hardest route I’ve ever climbed!  Or I’ll win a hand full of comps, and the next day I wont get up ten feet.

The solution?  First order two beers for yourself.Image

You sit there and feel sorry for yourself until the second bottle is empty.  Then you realize that no one gets anywhere without failure.  Is this cheesy? not really, do you feel instantly better? do you hell, but looking like the sad loser that you are isn’t going to help either.  Buck up Steve, sort your shit out and lets start thinking about the Ice Climbing World Cups.  I’m in the Great Britain Ice Climbing team now, and so better start acting like it and put lots of positive mental attitude into what we doing, otherwise you’ve lost before you’ve tied in! 

My weekend was great, Dennis and Marianne looked after me and took me for and quick blast around Amsterdam.  Will I be back next year, your dam right I will!

Back on the training train tomorrow before Christmas makes me fat!

 

One thought on “The Inconsistent Truth

  1. Excellent writing. Loving your new blog mate. We can only hope, that our expansion next year can give us something as amazing as your experience over there. Marianne and Dennis are brill!

Leave a comment